top of page

Ballyhaunis - Gateway to the West

Ballyhaunis is a thriving town centred in the heart of Connaught, equidistant to major urban centres in Galway, Sligo and Roscommon. Located at the crossroads of N60 and N83 national roads, the East Mayo town is 10km from Knock Marian Shrine and 25km from Ireland West Airport Knock. The town has excellent transportation links as it is served by the Dublin-Westport Rail Link and by Bus Eireann with routes to Athlone, Galway, and Derry.

Ballyhaunis is home to a rich and diverse population from all over the world, and the Community Council works to ensure the residents are given a voice in the town's overall development.

The Ballyhaunis Community Council was formed in 2001 following the Mayo Millennium Spire Project for St. Patrick’s Church. Since the establishment, the Council has evolved to serve the needs of the community in the following ways:

  • Involve all residents in promoting the social, educational, cultural and economic welfare of the community;

  • Develop and improve Ballyhaunis and its environs for the benefit of the community, campaign for new facilities and infrastructure;

  • Protect and preserve any natural view, park, historic monument, interesting landmark or ruin in Ballyhaunis or its vicinity;

  • Support the development or enrichment of community groups, clubs and societies;

  • Cooperate with other societies or institutions, establish and maintain links with international and national organisations having similar objectives;

  • Act as the representative body of the Ballyhaunis community at Mayo County Council and regional or national levels.

The Council is a registered charity (RCN: 20205994) governed by the Charities Regulator. 

The Council is completely dependent on volunteers who commit time and skills towards the overall running of projects. Members of the Council elect officers who serve bi-annual term on the committee.

The following officers were elected for the 2022/2023 year:

Chairperson: Mark Godfrey

Vice Chairperson: JT Smyth 

Secretary: Mary Donnelly 

​Treasurer: Marie Cribbin

​Public relations and Marketing: Tzyy Wang

Director: Ruari O'Broin

Membership of the Community Council is open to everyone for a nominal fee of €5.

We love Ballyhaunis and want to improve the community.

bottom of page